Take me Back to Cagbalete…

Posted: August 24, 2012 in Blog, Travel
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Photobucket

Relaxing by the beach was the thing I was looking forward to when I was still studying every summer vacation, me and my friends would go down to Bauang, La Union and stay there for a night or two and enjoy the beach. Then tried Boracay and they say that I would love it and would always go back every year but they were wrong because it was too busy for me and could not find anything peaceful… and lastly you have to spend a lot for your travels just to go there.

Then was invited last year to a place called Cagbalete Island with its pristine beaches, virgin forests, and no electricity, and I said to myself that I would like to go back to this place and my wish was answered this May 8-9, 2010.

We were picked up by the van at around 0400hrs and headed to our meet-up point at McDonalds EDSA Central where we met up with the others then headed to our next pick-up point which is Alabang. Our next destination was in Caltex Station at Canlubang to meet-up with other vehicles going to Mauban, Quezon, and by 0730hrs we were on our way.

Photobucket

Reaching Mauban, Quezon at around 1200hrs and filled up the passengers manifest then boarded the boat for the trip to Cagbalete Island. Reaching the Island we settled our selves in our huts and then lunch was served which was Ginataang Pusit (Squid cooked in Coconut), Crispy Pata, Paco (Fern) with Tuna Salad and for dessert Leche Flan, where I ate a lot… a lot of crispy pata. Because it was hot for strolling and swimming I went for a nap and I went downhill from there, woke up with a bad back which I felt was a pinched nerve and almost could not walk, tried to soak my back on the beach to relieve the pain and even tried a massage but no good so I tried to sleep it off and was really snoring loud till the next morning.

Photobucket

Woke up around 0530hrs and tried to shoot the sunrise but the sun was already up so we just walked around the beach. Breakfast was scrabbled eggs with tomatoes, daing and tinapa, bopis with fried rice and banana. After eating we went walking around the beach where I met up with some kids playing around and catching small fishes to play with.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Then came time to shoot the models at the beach where we had a grand time

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Merienda was turon and butter cake and we ordered buko juice which they got from the tree. Then just fooled and lazed around till lunch time. Lunch was Chop Suey, Sweet n Sour Fish, Grilled Baboy Damo Ribs and Pineapple for dessert. After lunch we fixed our things and waited for our boatride back to Mauban. And by 1430hrs we were on the banka and rowed to the boat that would bring us back to the Port of Mauban.

Photobucket

With some pasalubong buying we headed our way back to Manila with the usual drop-off at Alabang and Makati then was dropped-off at the Condo and to rest for the trip.

It was another great trip to Cagbalete and would love to go back again just to relax!!!

Leave a Reply

